Vonore: Sequoyah’s Birthplace and Fort Loudoun

image

image

image

image

image

Growing up in East Tennessee, I always heard stories of how a distant relative, John Ross, sold out his people and sent the Cherokee’s Eastern Band off to Oklahoma. This deadly journey was called the “Trail of Tears.”

I grew up in Cleveland, where the Hardee’s restaurant featured a mural of a strangely dressed man holding an odd implement and an unreadable newspaper. As it turned out (my six year old brain came to learn) he was a Cherokee hero who had developed the alphabet and the first Cherokee-language newspaper for his people. His name was Sequoyah.

This weekend I visited the memorial and museum. I highly recommend you go check it out on one of these fine spring or summer weekends. It’s fun, educational and lots of picturesque spots for photos. All about 30 minutes from Knoxville.

For more information, check it out at Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trail_of_Tears#Trail_of_Tears_National_Historic_Trail

To visit the Cherokee Nation’s website come to: Cherokee.

____________________________________
Thinking of buying or selling a home in the Knoxville area? Check out my real estate website.

About knoxvillerob

I love Knoxville - inside it's housing is where I'm usually found, after all I'm a Realtor and a Landlord. I love to shoot things and people with my camera and I probably like ya.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

