Mothers Day Musing: Folding Clothes???

image

I was just thinking about the effects my mother has had on me through the years. One of the good effects has always been an obsession with nicely folded clothes.

There are many ways that I have gone my own way, putting things away in a tidy manner didn’t stick, my “man room” is constantly a mess of mounds – papers, books, electronics, junk and treasure all democraticly discarded waiting to be either picked up and reused or finally relegated to the landfill. This is NOT something I learned from my mother – regardless of the hour, my mother’s house is neat as a pin. I think I may have gotten my penchant for piggishness in part from my dad, but he is better than me by a mile.

Growing up, I remember watching my mother fold laundry and it always looked like someone could wrap it in cellophane and put it back on the store shelf. My clothes always seemed to last longer and look better through her efforts. That was good since we never had a lot of money to waste.

Other aspects of my life that reflect my mother’s influence include a love of God, an insatiable wanderlust and deep care for family.

For many years I travelled all around Knoxville – didn’t hate moving though in my 21 years of living in town I have had 10 homes in all areas of town – North, South, East and West. I live in Farragut now, but yesterday I attended Vestival, the South Knox Arts & Heritage festival. I ran into friends who have better found their niches in town. Friends who have been in my life in real meaningful, and others in fleeting ways since I arrived in town for college in 1991.

I have always felt the wistful tug of home, at some transitional times more than others. I dream sometimes of moving back to my grandmother’s farm with the acres, farm house and pond. Other times, I think New York is where I’d “rhather” be, but Knoxville has always fit like a glove.

I thank my mom for this, knowing I can always go home, even if its not a permanent relocation.

About knoxvillerob

I love Knoxville - inside it's housing is where I'm usually found, after all I'm a Realtor and a Landlord. I love to shoot things and people with my camera and I probably like ya.
This entry was posted in Knoxville Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

